Home Energy News Power News Department of Atomic Energy prepares proposal for building 12 more atomic power...

    Department of Atomic Energy prepares proposal for building 12 more atomic power projects


    The Department of Atomic Energy (DAE) has prepared a proposal for building 12 nuclear reactors to ramp up power generation in the country.  In a written response to a question in Rajya Sabha, Jitendra Singh, Minister of State in the Prime Minister’s Office said, of the 12, 10 reactors will be indigenous Pressurised Heavy Water Reactors (PHWR) while the other two will be Light Water Reactors (LWRs) of Kudankulam units 5 and 6 of 1,000 MW each.  These are presently under consideration of the government for accord of administrative approval and financial sanction, Mr. Singh said.  The DAE comes under the PMO.  The government of Andhra Pradesh had given its consent to carry out technical studies required to identify potential coastal sites for locating nuclear power plants in the state. At present, the Site Selection Committee of the central government is exploring the possibility of identifying a suitable coastal site in Andhra Pradesh for locating nuclear power plants with Russian cooperation.  The Atomic Directorate for Exploration and Research (AMD) has identified Gogi-Kanchankai area in Yadhir district of Karnataka and it is under the evaluation of DAE.  Mr. Singh also added that the DAE had filed for 40 patents in the last five years and nine were granted to them.

    Source: energy.economictimes.indiatimes.com

    Image source: YouTube


    Please enter your comment!
    Please enter your name here