Home Transport Infrastructure News Railways News Kochi Metro: Inauguration of new stretch with five stations

    Kochi Metro: Inauguration of new stretch with five stations

    Kochi Metro Inauguration

    The Kochi Metro‘s new stretch from Maharaja’s College junction to Thykoodam was inaugurated. Chief Minister Pinarayi Vijayan inaugurated services in the new stretch at a function presided over by Union Urban Affairs Minister Hardeep Singh Puri.

    Earlier, the Commissioner of Metro Rail Safety had granted sanction for the Metro’s new stretch. The new stretch has a total of five stations i.e, Ernakulam South, Kadavanthra, Elamkulam, Vyttila and Thykoodam.

    The newly-inaugurated five-kilometre stretch, which extends from Maharaja’s Junction to Thykoodam bridge, takes the total distance covered by the Kochi Metro, so far, to around 24 kms. Its remaining one kilometre stretch, in the first phase, is expected to be complete by January next year. Once the remaining stretch is opened, the Kochi Metro will cover a distance of 25-kms from Palarivattom to Aluva reducing travel time by at least an hour or two.


    Please enter your comment!
    Please enter your name here